Hon Richard J. Daronco Distinguished Service Award

In 1984, the Board of Directors of the Columbian Lawyers Association of Westchester County voted that an award for distinguished service would be presented at its annual dinner dance. The Distinguished Service Award of the Columbian Lawyers Association, as it was originally named, would be presented to that man or woman of Italian heritage who had made a significant contribution to the bench or bar and who had been an outstanding example and asset to the Italian-American community at large. All of our honorees have been outstanding attorneys or jurists who have given unselfishly of themselves and who have been a source of pride to the Italian-Americans.

In May of 1988, a founding member and friend, Judge Richard J. Daronco, was tragically taken from our midst. Judge Daronco was a well-respected Justice of The Supreme Court of Westchester County who, at the time of his death, was a Judge of The United States District Court for the Southern District of New York. Following his death, the Board agreed that it was
proper and fitting to rename our award and dedicate same to his memory. In his all too brief life and professional career, Judge Daronco epitomized the goals that all Italian-Americans should strive to attain.

This year we will bestow the award upon the Honorable William J. Giacomo., a highly regarded and respected member of the Judiciary. Like our past recipients, the Honorable William J. Giacomo is a role model for persons of Italian heritage and possesses all the qualities the Columbian Lawyers Association values.

Prior Recipients

Honorable George Fanelli
Philomena D’Apice McLaughlin, Esq.
Honorable Albert Fiorello
Honorable P. Raymond Sirignano
Honorable Anthony J. Cerrato
Honorable James R. Caruso
Honorable Thomas Facelle
Honorable Anthony J. Mercorella
Honorable Louis Palella
Honorable Matthew F. Coppola
District Attorney Carl A. Vergari
Honorable Anthony B. Gioffre
Honorable Francis A. Nicolai
David Pope
Christopher C. Cuomo, Esq.
Honorable Michael A. Martinelli
Honorable Susan Cacace
Albert Pirro, Esq.
James V. Veneruso, Esq.
Honorable Vincent L. Briccetti

Stephen J. Pittari, Esq.
Honorable Vincent A. Delorio
Honorable Anthony Colavita
Honorable Peter P. Rosato
Honorable Vincent R. Rippa
Albert W. Cornacchio, Esq.
Edward Papantonio, Esq.
Michael LaPenna
Honorable Basil Filardi, Jr.
Mauro Romita, Sr., Esq.
Thomas Bisordi, Esq.
Bohn C. Vergari, Esq.
District Attorney Janet DiFiore
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo
Honorable Anthony A. Scarpino, Jr.
Honorable Daniel D. Angiolillo
George E. Fufidio, Esq.
Joseph R. Abinanti, Esq.
Anthony J. Enea, Esq.
John Joseph Pappalardo, Esq.
Raymond Nicotera, Esq.